Linguine Cooker

Pasta (Linguine) Cooker

When I saw this over at Gizmodo, my mind went – “Finally someone has decided to make this!”. Not that I’d buy it even if it is reasonably priced – though everytime I try to cook linguine (linguine is the type of pasta that is long and thin – like the ones in the picture), I’d always think to myself – “Someday, I should design a pasta cooker where you didn’t have to put one end of the pasta into hot water and you wait impatiently for it to soften to twist the rest of the pasta within my small-ish pot. ”

Imagine my disappointment when I realized that it was not exactly a pasta cooker.  It’s more like a hot water flask, and has no powered heating element within the unit. That really brings pasta cooking into the kingdom of ultra-budget instant-noodle cooking or something.

Maybe I should still design the pasta cooker after all. With an easy-serving measuring feature included. And yes, with its own heater.

[link]

5 comments so far

  1. DT on

    Yep but the problem is the pasta will drop all to the bottom and would either:
    1) burn cos you can stir the damn thing.
    2) a bitch to get it out.

    Probably why its just hot water, and then chuck into a real pot to cook. Then again I would still use a pot eh?

  2. Gems Sty on

    I guess you meant “CAN’T stir the damn thing” – that is indeed a major handicap as linguine generally would need some space to “swim” or it’d turn into a lump (which is probably why many people recommend adding a drop of oil while cooking pasta).

    Heh, maybe the opening should be on the long side (for the lack of a better analogy, I’d say “coffin style”) then? Operated horizontally, like a long trough or something.

  3. DT on

    Hehe, typo yes can’t stir it. I mean.

  4. Mirko Junge on

    I still did not find a reputable source for this device in Europe, but I did some tests with a Starbucks plastic thermos ‘cup’. First of all: It works rather well (just increase the specified ‘cooking’ time by 3min. for you al dente noodles). You can not stir, but you can give the whole container a shake. Getting the water out (before the noodles that is) can be a bit of a pain: especially Linguine tend to clot the draining sieve. You need to hold the tube at an angle and keep turning. There is virtually no sticking of noodles to the inside wall of the container. I still do not know if the container needs to be double walled.

  5. Gems Sty on

    Oh that’s cool – to have a real life experiment to test our verbal hypotheses. When I was in secondary school I used to make a sieved-tupperware too – basically I just cut out some holes in the lid. This helped to simplify the process of cooking the ‘dry’ versions of instant noodles. But somehow, (whether it’s in fact true or not) the noodles just felt less tasty while being more convenient. It almost felt like the noodles’ texture are different if you have boiled water with it versus simply soaking in it.

    Not sure if it’s just all psychological…


Leave a Reply

