VW Phaeton Shadowplay Commercial

This is a beautiful commercial from Volkswagen Phaeton – Phaetons are Volkswagen’s top line model. I’m not quite sure what it’d mean to you, but I definitely think that the factory that made these Phaetons (as covered by my blog post on it last year) are certainly more beautiful than the cars themselves.

Phaetons are hand assembled in the factory, which is why this VW commercial focuses on the beauty that the hand can give – in this case, the familiar art of using the shadows formed with a hand to create animated shadows. You’d probably know the “eagle”, but this ad is chock full of various lively creatures that tells a story.

It is perhaps regrettable though that the digital age of animation has bred a cynic in me – before I could be truly impressed by the artistic feat, a definite voice in my brain would ring “That is probably just CG – DONT be impressed!”. Which is a stupid thought – why should I reduce the amount of surprise, delight and amazement in my life – but I guess it’s a stupid thought that’d stick with me.

2 comments so far

  1. Mike Seneca on

    I have not seen the factory, but I’m sure it’s more beautiful than the Phaeton itself. That wonderful commercial ends with the photo of a rather pedestrian car.

    As the owner of a new Audi A8L, I do respect what Volkswagen can do.

    Of course, the first Porsche was a hot-rodded Beetle, and Porsche retained many ties to the Beetle through 1964.

    Mike Seneca

  2. Gems Sty on

    Hi Mike,

    In case you missed the pictuers of the Phaeton factory in Dresden (also known as the glass factory):

    http://forums.vwvortex.com/zerothread?id=1837641


Leave a Reply

