Digital Price Tags

Tokyo Digital Price Tags

Jan Chipchase spotted over at his blog the usage of digital pricing tags in a supermarket in Tokyo. As he noted, there are many possibilities enabled by this new pricing information:

Why? The ability to dynamically change prices based on contexts such as time of day, customers in proximity, levels of stock, or the weather that you experienced five minutes ago creates so many opportunities. Small sign. Big implications.

Of course there’s also additional other conveniences like electronically updating your price, which means your staff won’t have to manually switch tags; or maybe prices of all chains of megamarts are fed back to a central server in real time, to make sure the there are no errant pricing in franchisees; or perhaps they mega ‘cheapest here or else’ marts can upload prices in real time to a social website for comparison.

But, if you have the power to dynamically change price, would you? Would the feeling of certainty and constancy be more important than the perceptively fluctuating or shifting price, which tends to lead to insecurities? Would the customers think they’re getting gouged when they have to pay a higher price responding to a certain context (even though they could’ve chose to think the other way – they got the discounts on other days)?

Food for thought…

9 comments so far

  1. Precios Digitales | Papelera 21 on

    […] (Visto en Gems Sty) […]

  2. Jonathan on

    Hey my name is Jonathan
    I am interested in your digital tags. Can you please further inform me about your product. Please write back with more details regarding your product. Is it possible for your tags to be routed and controlled from one server? What is the cost per unit? Please write back. My email is greyson2000_2000@yahoo.com
    Thankyou
    Jonathan

  3. Gems Sty on

    Hi Jonathan,

    I wish I could help – but this is not my product. Perhaps you could do some supplier search on RFID tags?

  4. ash on

    i wish to have some information on RFIDS please

  5. Natalie on

    Hey my name is Natalie
    I am interested to in your digital tags. Can you please further inform me about your product. Please write back with more details regarding your product. Is it possible for your tags to be routed and controlled from one server? What is the cost per unit? Please write back.ASAP.
    My email is natalie@labelindojaya.com

    NB:
    I know this is not your product, but i hope you can help me, for give me who the supplier.
    Thank’s for your support.
    i really need your help, thanks before.

    Thank you
    Natalie

  6. Gems Sty on

    Dear Natalie,

    Sorry I can’t help you here either…I’ve no idea who the supplier is.

  7. Pricer on
  8. manish on

    Can you please provide me the price of the digital price tag, as i looking for those 20 piecex at the moent as per the image shown do let me know the specification of the same..

  9. janks on

    Altierre in the USA makes cool digital price tags. You can google them


Leave a Reply

